Impressions of Warhammer-Online

Well Open Beta is over, and if you preordered your collector’s edition, your probably playing your toon already.

I’m going to give you my thoughts so far on Warhammer-Online. I’m going to be honest, and fair. The rig I’m running is an AMD-Dual-core 4400, 3GB RAM, an 8600GT 256MB RAM DDR3. I will be grading items on a scale from 1-5, 5 being the best. 1 being the suckiest.

Graphics– The graphics are for the most part on the upper end of ok. Some glitches, and I think not as smooth as some other games. One of the glitches on my Chosen is sometimes he runs around looking to his left, and is stuck like that for a bit. Sometimes mobs would do some crazy things, and I have general issues when spell effects get out of hand.  I give the graphics a 4 out of 5.

Classes – With a nice mix of classes, and mechanics. WAR really shines through. Some notables is the Iron Breakers and the Grudge Mechanic, the Disciple of Khaine is really a neat class. Some things that are hard is lack of a true Dark Elf tank, and Human Tank in earlier levels is makes things hard for Public Quests and such. I’ll give this a 4 out of 5.

Stability – I can’t say enough good things about this. Mythic really outdoned themeselves. Not many Crashes to Desktop, Lag has been pretty good even when fighting what seemed like 25 versus 25 in open field. I have to say great job on this Mythic. a 5 out of 5.

Playability – Most of the classes seem pretty easy to grasp. The quests are pretty well explained, some features like outlining quest areas on the maps, and tooltips telling you what spells/abilities do really help. Alot of merchants, and trainers around so your never far from that stuff. It’s an easy game to learn, hard game to master. a 5 out of 5.

Quests – I really like how the quests are grouped together, easy, quick. Also some variety in there..not a whole heck of alot of variety, but there is some. I also like there is a good mix of RvR quests, and you can do those quests while RvRing. – a 4 out of 5.

Itemization– The items seem to need a little tweaking, Renown gear use to be the best, now PQ gear seems better. I think they need to work out some kinks here. Gonna give it a 3 out of 5.

Crafting – Sucks and useless at lower levels. Nothing good garnered from it except a few extra coins. I give it a 2 out of 5.

PvP – Not enough I can say about this, it’s what this game is about. Siege engines, RvR. Objectives, benefits for taking objectives. Just superb job here. Mythic really shines here. a big 5 out of 5.

Overall– The game is good, no MMORPG is really finished or all that right out of the box including ye olde World of Warcraft. There’s things that need to be worked on. Things that need to be tweaked. As long as Mythic doesn’t screw the pooch so to speak, I think they will have a long lasting member base, and make lots, and lots of money. I give this game a 4 out of 5.

One final note some people asked me is the game better then WoW. I say no it’s not better, but different. The way mashed potatoes are different then baked. Sure their both potatoes but one is mushy and gooey, while the other is more tasteful, and has sour cream on it. I played WoW for 4 years of my life, it has given me immense entertainment. I won’t say a bad word about it. WAR is more me though RvR, and it has Chaos in it. Now if we can only make sure there isn’t a Trials of Atlantis for WAR we’ll be alright.

3 Responses to “Impressions of Warhammer-Online”

  1. If ur mash potaytoh is mushey en gooey u is mashin to much en puttin to much butta en milk in. Mmm mash potaytoh goes gud wiv roast stuntie.

  2. Proof-reading much help, grasshoppa.

  3. I think your referring to Mornazh, he’s using Greenskin Speak. I think its cool

    God I hope your referring to Morn, cause I hate proofreading my own shite

Leave a Reply

